May the force be with you

I was asked to make some Stormtrooper cupcakes for a little boys 4th birthday party.  All my cupcakes are usually very pretty and girly so these made a nice change.  These were really easy to make.  I baked the cupcakes as normal, I used a plain vanilla recipe but you can be as creative as you want.  Once the cakes had cooled I put a small amount of buttercream on the top of the cupcakes, making sure to keep it away from the sides of the case.  Next I rolled out some ready to roll icing and used a circle cutter to cut out the icing which was then placed on top of the cupcakes and gently pressed into place,  When rolling out the icing I used a sprinkle of cornflour to stop the icing from sticking to the work top.

For the marshmallow heads I struggled to get packets of just white marshmallows so ended up buying packets which had both pink and white marshmallows in………..it is a good job I like marshmallows! 😉 My first attempt at the Stormtrooper face was with an edible pen but to me it looked faded and not a strong enough black, almost as though I had used a felt tip pen that was running out.  My second attempt at the Stormtrooper face was with fondant icing sugar to which I added black food colouring and then piped it onto the marshmallows.  I used a PME 3 nozzle for the line around the top and a PME 1 nozzle for the eyes and the nose.  Once the icing had dried I stuck the marshmallow heads on to the cupcakes using edible glue.

If you have any questions about how to make make these cupcakes then please leave a comment and I will try best to help.

5 thoughts on “May the force be with you

  1. Pingback: Easy Star Wars party snack recipes | Cool Mom Eats

Leave a Reply

